top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Dann

Salt Dough Coasters - VE Day

Victory in Europe Day (VE Day) is May 8th, and marks the end of the War with Germany. I have seen so many pictures of beautiful flags and bunting being made by little ones across the UK.

I wanted to offer a fun activity which children could do and then have something as gifts for grandparents or other loved ones.


This recipe for Salt Dough obviously can be used for multiple things though!


Salt Dough Recipe:

2 Cups of flour (This works with gluten free flour too)

1 Cup of salt

3/4 Cup of water


Directions:

Pre-heat oven at 100C (210F)


Mix flour and salt together and gradually add water until a ball of dough is formed.


Need the dough for about 3-4 mins, you will feel that the dough becomes much softer and smoother.


Roll the dough out and using either cookie cutters or simply a butter knife, cut the dough into a shape large enough to fit the base of your cup/mug.


Line a tray with aluminum foil and place your creations in the oven.


Depending on your thickness will depend how long to leave it in the oven for. However, as a guideline, my coaster is about 1cm thick- and I left it in the oven for 2.5hours. You can let it air dry too, but this takes much longer (a couple of days).

I did try a small sample, again 1cm in thickness in the microwave for 10 second intervals, total of 60 seconds, and I found that way works too! However I do recommend taking it 10 seconds at a time.


I read that you needed to use acrylic paint to decorate the salt dough, unfortunately I didn't have this and used regular washable paint and I was very happy with how it turned out. So don't let that deter you from having fun!


I sealed my coaster with school glue (PVA), this will just help it to last.


Any left over dough can be wrapped in cling film and stored in an air tight container, it will last for a couple of days :).



Happy VE Day!




62 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page