top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Dann

Jelly Soap!

This is SO fun! I know I probably always say that, but honestly I am always trying different things, and some are complete failures, and I only bring to the table things which I think will be a hit with your little ones. My theory is if I have fun, you will too!


Lets face it, how many times have we turned little ones back into to the bathroom to wash their hands? I know I have certainly lost count!


Why dont we in these times where hand washing is even more crucial then normal, make hand washing a little bit more fun and special for them?


Or maybe bath time is becoming a struggle, and you need a new way to entice them to have a wash?


No matter the reason for you to do this, I hope you all have as much fun as I did!


If your child isn't a fan of jelly texture, I will be making hard soap in another blog - very similar method to this one. So stay tuned, there will be something for everyone!


Here's a chance to use those cute silicon ice molds which we bought to make all those fun ice cubes in our drinks, but never really use them, or maybe that's just me?

If you don't have any silicon molds, they can be purchased very cheaply for only a few dollars.


What I love about this activity, apart from having an awesome soap product at the end, is how this can be used with any liquid hand soap. So if there is one in particular you like to use for your children, you can still make sure they are using that. Also, if your liquid soap has any scent in it, like mine has lavender, your jellies will smell great!


What you will need:

* Liquid Soap * Gelatin * Food Color (optional, this will not cause the soap to die your hands) * Boiling hot water

* Silicon Molds


Steps:

1) Place your molds onto a baking tray to make it easier to transfer them into the fridge.


2) Mix slowly one sachet of gelatin (0.25oz) with 1 cup of boiling water.


3) Stir slowly until gelatin is dissolved. I used a fork.

* Note: The importance of mixing slowly is to avoid having bubbles. The heat from the water will dissolve the gelatin, it just takes a few minutes.


If you find you have a couple of bubbles at the side of your mixing jug, simply use a little spoon and scoop them out. We want to aim for zero bubbles.

I did read though that if you have Rubbing alcohol, you can spray that on the bubbles to eliminate them.

4) Next, add your food coloring and stir gently. I used 5 drops :).


5) Add 1/2 cup liquid soap, mix and pour into molds.


6) Transfer it into the fridge for 2 hours or until set.


7) Gently pop them out, and Ta-Da! You have Jelly soap!


These will start to melt after too much time spent out, so store in the fridge until bath time or when ready to use!

Another great time to use these would be when the children are about to help out in the kitchen cooking or baking, and they can kick off the activity with a fun soap!


Happy Sunday!



273 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page